Penderyn Music Book Prize 2016 Winner Announced

Media, Penderyn Prize

This year’s winning author is Jon Savage for his book ‘1966: The Year The Decade Exploded’ (Faber). This is the 2nd year for the prize and we are delighted that it has received extended coverage in both the Guardian and the NME. The winner received a cheque for £1000 and a bottle of Penderyn Single Cask single malt whisky at the ceremony in Laugharne on the 3rd April.

Penderyn MD Stephen Davies said, ‘It was an incredibly strong shortlist which went from memoirs to biographies of specific years to a complete history of pop. We congratulate Jon Savage on winning the Penderyn Music Book Prize precisely 50 years after 1966, the fascinating subject of his brilliant book.’

The Penderyn Music Book Prize is the only UK-based book prize specifically for music titles including history, theory, biography, autobiography. This year’s eminent judging panel consisted of Stuart Maconie, Annie Nightingale, Mark Ellen, Green Gartside, Robin Ince and Jude Rogers.

Speaking at the event Jon Savage told the audience, ‘I’m very pleased that there is a prize that recognises the depth and breadth that exists in the writing about music. It’s not just a fad but a way of life. And of course I’m honoured to be the winner of the prize in its second year: may there be many more.’ For more info:

Jon Savage is pictured with Penderyn’s Sian Whitelock (Brand Director), and Jon Tregenna, (Media Manager).